

USA <u>Wrestling Connecticut</u>

Six wrestlers repeat as champions at the Veterans Freestyle Nationals; Three wrestlers win Veterans Triple Crown

Erin Phipps USA Wrestling 04/13/2006

Six wrestlers won freestyle national titles for the second consecutive year at the Veterans National Freestyle Championships in Las Vegas, Nev. April 13.

The Veterans Nationals is for athletes who are 35 years old or older. There are five age groups in Veterans wrestling.

Those who repeated as Veterans National freestyle champions from last year include:
•Mark Lavasseur of the Minnesota Storm in Div. C at 127.75 lbs.
•Mark Tracey of the Rick Sanders Club of Oregon at 214 lbs.
•Jim Lucas of Spartan Wrestling Club at 138.5 lbs.
•Jim Baron of Yin Yang at 152 lbs.
•Shirzad Ahmadi of Wrestling for Peace (WFP) at 138.5 lbs. Connecticut
•Ronald Hughes, unattached at 152 lbs.

Lavasseur recently won his third consecutive folkstyle national title at the Veterans Folkstyle National Championships in Cedar Falls, Iowa, Apr. 8. He also won his second Greco-Roman national title uncontested.

Each year, USA Wrestling recognizes Veterans Triple Crown winners. These athletes have won national titles in the three wrestling styles in the same year. The 2006 Triple Crown Winners include Lavasseur, J.D. Hawkins of Team Jesus (Div. D, 152 lbs.), and Anthony Porcelli of Team Porcelli (Div. B, 187.25 lbs.).

Athletes who win two of the three styles are recognized as Double Champions. The 2006 Double Champions include Marco Sanchez of the Sunkist Wrestling Club (Div. A, 152 lbs.), Kevin Pine of Elma WC (Div. A, 167.5 lbs.), Steve Hart of the Ralston Valley Mustangs (Div. D, 63 lbs.), James Demos of X-All-Army (Div. B, 286.5 lbs.), Kevin Ida, unattached (Div. D, 127.75), Dave Nowick of Grapplers Edge (Div. A, 138.5), Robert Wijtman of Yreka Wrestling Team (Div. C, 152), Douglas Reese of the Tornado Wrestling Club (Div. C, 286.5), Brad Rehor of Ft. Worth Eagles (Div. D, 286.5), Sarkis Dermenjian of Golden Boys (Div. D, 187.25).

Champions in Div. A included Dave Malecek, unattached (214), Gary Ringenberg of Team Illionis (286.5) and Matt Johnson of the Cowboy Wrestling Club (187.25),

Other champions in Div. B are Randy Geiger, unattached (138.5) and Charlie Lucas of the Rick Sanders Club in Oregon (167.5).

Other champions in Div. C included Brad Swartz of Vision Quest Sport and Fitness (187.25), Steve Morris of the Rick Sanders Club, OR (167.5), Robert Wimberley of Dr. Funk (152) and Larry Robertson, unattached (214).

Other champions in Div. D are Kevin Ida, unattached (127.75), Jonny Akins of Team Jesus (167.5), David Rottenberg of Red Bluff Youth Olympic Wrestling (214).

Other champions in Div. E include Tommy Reyna of USA Oklahoma (127.75), Joe Tice, unattached (214), Wayne Boyd of Team Jesus (167.5), Richard Pollock of the Hawkeye East Wrestling Club (187.25), Gerald Ponce of Golden State Wrestling (286.5).